About Us


Norman Chamber Members "Shine" at Annual Awards Banquet

on February 4, 2020

The Norman Chamber of Commerce honored several of its members and celebrated a successful centennial yar at its Annual Awards Banquet on Thursday, Jan. 30, 2020.

Along with individuals and businesses being celebrated during the program, the Chamber took a different turn at this year’s banquet by highlighting successes over the past year and brought out motivational speaker, Jimmy Cusano, president of Your Chamber Connection. Cusano led attendees through different activities to instill that we are all in this together and working together in unity is the key ingredient to a healthy and thriving community.

Awards presented include NEXT Under 40, Women’s Leadership Award, Ambassador of the Year, Teachers of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Small Business of the Year, and Large Business of the Year.

The Norman Chamber also celebrated its outgoing chair of the Board, Casey Vinyard, passing the gavel to the incoming chair, Matt Clouse.

2020 NEXT Under 40 Awards (Sponsor: Eide Bailly)

The best of Norman’s young professionals:

Merleyn Bell

Cameron Brewer

Candace Clay

Amber Cole

Tim Ferree

Courtney Floyd

Kristin Garcia

Joey Griffith

Dillon Henry

Dr. Jennifer Jenkins

Sara King

Daniel Moses

Preston O'Brien

Amber Prewitt

Lauren Schueler

Elliot Springer

2020 Women’s Leadership Award (Sponsor: First United Bank)

Vicki Davis, Johnson Controls

Davis is a native of Norman who displays the epitome of “working your way up the corporate ladder.” She started as an entry-level employee and is now the plant manager for Norman’s largest private employer, Johnson Controls. And just last year she led her company’s recent expansion that added up to 300 new jobs to the Norman community.

Teacher of the Year Awards (Sponsor: Valliance Bank)

Norman Public Schools – Elizabeth Hoggatt

The 2019 District Teacher of the Year from Norman Public Schools is Elizabeth Hoggatt. Hoggatt teaches English at Norman High and has been with the district for 10 years. She is an active leader in the Norman high school community and the entire district. She values curiosity and social justice and says these two values have shaped her into the reflective and empathetic teacher she is today.

All Saints Catholic School – Melany Pattison

The All Saints Catholic School 2019 Teacher of the Year is Melany Pattison, a music teacher who has served 16 years at All Saints. Pattison teaches vocal music to children in pre-K through 5th grade and manages a Show Choir for 6th through 8th graders. She also teaches and directs at Sooner Theatre and is the musical director for its current show, “Mary Poppins.”

2020 Ambassador of the Year: (Sponsor: OG&E)

Andrew Gasper, Landmark Roofing

Andrew Gasper is someone who exemplifies the Ambassador spirit. He has led the Ambassador committee as the chairman over the past year and a half and has always been willing to step in when needed to work events and ribbon cuttings, and to mentor new members. Gasper’s is committed to volunteering his time in the community, guiding to new chamber members, and is dedicated to seeing Norman prosper.

2020 Chairman’s Award (Sponsor: Valliance Bank)

Volunteer of the Year: Gary Gage, Landers Auto Group

Gary Gage was named Volunteer of the Year for his distinguished volunteer service to not just the Chamber, but the entire Norman community. Gage has been a long-time supporter of the Chamber, from his days serving us as a Norman police officer, to now helping lead one of Norman’s most vibrant businesses… he is a servant of the community. He is someone you call when you need a favor, a donation, or even a golf cart. There is no request too big or too small; his heart is always full and his giving ability is limitless.

2020 Small Business of the Year (Sponsor: Arvest Bank)

Best of Norman’s Small Business Community: Julia Chew, State Farm Insurance

Julia Chew, State Farm Insurance, honor plays a significant part in making Norman a great city and the Chamber a great organization. This business goes above and beyond its daily mission to invest in Norman and in our business community. Chew’s agency has achieved the prestigious Chairman’s Circle Award given to top agents in the country and was one of the top 50 agents in her company to be named to the President’s Club. Her agency has consistently been named the “Best Insurance Agency in Norman” by the readers of the Norman Transcript. Chew is very active in the Norman community, serving in great capacity with the chamber and university of Oklahoma. She is a graduate of Leadership Norman and Leadership Oklahoma.

2020 Large Business of the Year (Sponsor: BancFirst)

Best of Norman’s Large Business Community: Norman Regional Health System

Norman Regional Health System has consistently been a model of involvement with the Norman Chamber and the Norman business community. NRHS has been serving the Norman community for nearly three-quarters of a century. What started with just 61 beds and 29 employees, has grown to be a leader in healthcare in south central Oklahoma. While Norman Regional continues to grow and evolve in technology, the team of healers’ personal touch and their care for each individual patient, is as strong today as it was when the voters in 1946 saw the wisdom in having a locally managed municipal hospital.

Thank you to our 2020 Presenting Sponsor, AT&T, and to all of our generous 2020 Banquet sponsors!

Johnson Controls Industries, Entertainment Sponsor; Primrose Funeral Service and Sunset Memorial Park, Wine Sponsor; Landers Auto Group, Centerpiece Sponsor; and RK Black, Program Sponsor.

Platinum Preferred Sponsors: BancFirst, Dr. Gabriel Bird/Schumacher & Stanley, Chickasaw Nation; First United Bank, Floyd Law Firm, Fowler Automotive, Moore Norman Technology Center, Norman Regional Health System, Norman Transcript, OEC Fiber, Oklahoma Natural Gas and Walmart West.

Platinum Sponsors: 1NB Financial Center, Adair & Associates/Garner Insurance, Aria Real Estate, Arvest Bank, Chickasaw Nation Industries, City of Norman, Dental Design Studio, Eide Bailly, First Citizens Bank, First Fidelity Bank, Flintco, Hallbrooke Development Group, Havenbrook Funeral Home, Ideal Homes, INOK Investments, INTRUST Bank, LifeSpring Home Care, Manhattan Construction Co., MidFirst Bank, Moore Norman Technology Center, NCED Conference Center, Nelson Mazda, Norman NEXT, OG&E, Oklahoma Electric Cooperative, Oklahoma State Bank, RCB Bank, Republic Bank & Trust, Rieger Law Group, SportsTalk Media, Tinker Federal Credit Union, Tribute Memorial Care, University of Oklahoma, Valliance Bank and Walden Cleaners.

Gold Sponsors: ADG PC, Bergey Windpower, Big Red Sports & Imports, Julia Chew State Farm Insurance, Communication Federal Credit Union, Cyclebar Norman, Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center, First Bank & Trust, First Liberty Bank, Gray Blodgett & Company, Hampton Inn & Suites, Holiday Inn Express, MA+ Architecture, McClain Bank, Rieger Realty, Silver Star Construction and VisitNorman.

Silver Sponsors: Alliance Maintenance, Cain & Cain Estate Planners for Life, Cardinal Engineering, DM Wealth Management, Haralson Enterprises Inc., Lashar Home Comfort Systems, Cindy K. Nashert State Farm Insurance, Norman Public Schools, Pioneer Library System, Rhombic Engineering and Michaele Rose Warkentin.